Senior Academy Match Report V Walsall - National Plate (Home) Sat 13/01/2007 

Moseley 41 Walsall 11 - 13th January 2007

As the first team were lining up against Pertemps Bees, Moseley Colts got the opportunity to play on the first team pitch, against Walsall . Moseley started strongly and scored from a well worked driving maul, with Matt Tibbatts at number eight the scorer. Minutes later after a very clever break from Luke Ward near the right hand touchline, a try was scored by Sam Yarwood after Ward had made good yards.

However, after this early pressure up the slope and against the wind, Moseley began to give away needless penalties in their own half, two of which were converted by Walsall to leave the half time score 10-6 to Moseley. Moseley started the second half promisingly again, and Matt Durber picked up an early second half try, which James Oliver converted. Moseley began to open up the play a little and this resulted in another try soon after.

Jon Perks fielded the ball at full back and passed to Sam Yarwood who supported him well and from depth. He gave the ball on to Durber, who drew his man and passed to Dan Pinch. Pinch cut a good angle and gave a great pass out to Chris Stigwood who dived in at the left corner rounding off a superb move.

Soon afterwards at the restart, Sam Yarwood caught the ball and with the opposition pack in front of him, he gave two strong hand offs and broke through the gap, using his pace to get all the way down the right flank to score, Alex Warner converting. Yarwood scored his hat-trick try not long after this, after sustained Moseley pressure. Another driving maul by the Moseley forwards led to a James Weaver try, and Walsall replied with a try of their own by the openside flanker at the death, a reward for their large effort. Final score Moseley 41-11 Walsall. – Jack Richards

Moseley Squad: Paul Norris, Dan Toth, Will Caesar, Charley Thomas, Jon Duckers, Clark Hands, Robin Bayliss, James Sullivan, James Weaver, Alex Tunnicliff, Matt Tibbatts, Tom Bartlett, Luke Ward, Daniel Malins, James Oliver, Alex Warner, Matt Durber, Dan Pinch, Chris Stigwood, Sam Yarwood, Antonio Solomon, Buzz Katermouswa, Jon Perks